Idaho Head Start

An Even Playing Field for All Early Learners

Idaho Head Start believes that every child, regardless of circumstances at birth, has the ability to reach their full potential.

Head Start is a Federal program that promotes the school readiness of children from birth to age five. Head Start emphasizes the role of parents as their child’s first and most important teacher.

Who is Eligible?

  • Children from birth to age five from families of low income according to the Poverty Guidelines published by the Federal Government
  • Children in foster care, homeless children and children from families receiving public assistance (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families or Supplemental Security Income) are eligible regardless of income. 

Find Your Local Program

  • North Idaho
    Benewah County, Bonner County, Boundary County, Kootenai County Shoshone County
  • North Central Idaho
    Clearwater County, Idaho County, Latah County, Lewis County, Nez Perce County
  • Southwest Idaho
    Ada County, Adams County, Boise County, Canyon County, Elmore County, Gem County, Owyhee County, Payette County, Washington County, Valley County
  • South Central Idaho
    Blaine County, Camas County, Cassia County, Gooding County, Jerome County, Lincoln County, Minidoka County, Power County, Twin Falls County
  • Southeast Idaho
    Bannock County, Bear Lake County, Caribou County, Franklin County, Oneida County
  • East Idaho
    Bingham County, Bonneville County, Butte County, Clark County, Custer County, Fremont County, Jefferson County, Lemhi County, Madison County, Teton County